Expelliarmus!

EC: Margaux just had the funniest dream. Bwahahaha. I still can’t get over it.
Julie: What did she dream about?
EC: That she was accepted in Hogwarts, and that the Sorting Hat placed her in the fifth house.
Julie: Fifth? Wait, there are only four houses. Gryffindor, Slytherin, Ravenclaw, Hufflepuff…
EC: She dreamt that she’s in Tinky-Winky!
Julie: Tinky-Winky ampotah. Bwahahahahahahahaha!

That’s pretty much the conversation I heard 8 years ago that got me reading the Harry Potter series. I got tired of hearing my barkada talk about fictional names and places that I had zero inkling of. I wanted to join the trivial fun of house wars and spell casting.

I went to National Bookstore in ATC and bought books 1 and 2, Harry Potter and Philosopher’s Stone and Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. I finished the book in less than 24 hours. After a week, my Tita Vina sent me hardbound copies of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban and Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, books 3 and 4. Needless to say, there was a phase in my life that I was Harry Potter-obsessed. A phase when I had to first say Lumos! before I switched the light on, called every smartypants Hermione, and muttered Aveda Kedevra! when I came across exes.

My besty Donnie made up silly (unsuccessful) rumors that he’s the real author, not JK Rowling. He told me JK stands for JoKla, a substandard manipedi homosexual who stole his idea. JK phoned one night and Donnie told him he’s writing a story called Harry Puta. Because JK’s phone was analog, the signal was crappy and he asked in confusion, “What Donnie? Har-ry Pot-tah?”

“JK, you’re an idiot. It’s Harry Puta. Pu-ta.”

“Oh, Ha-ry Pot-tah. Harry Pot-tah!”

Yes, yes. The series was the source of my joy and laughter. I was passionately absorbed. I wanted to kill the Dursleys especially horse-faced Aunt Petunia. I wanted to go to Hogsmeade and Diagon Alley. I wanted to befriend Hagrid so that I could try to tame a hipogriff and teach Fang some tricks. I loved Albus Dumbledore and his nondirect words of wisdom. I adored Cedric Diggory and I shed a tear when he was murdered by Voldemort in book 4.

And.I.Loathed.Cho.Chang. I think it was because of her that I stopped reading. I just felt she wasn’t right for Harry. Imagine my absolute disgust when I heard Heart Evangelista was selected to play Cho in the film.

It was only last week when I decided to read the last three books. See, when I was stuck in Morong I couldn’t watch the telly because of the power failure and I couldn’t go out because of the typhoon. I read book 3 again and the Hogwarts magic came alive once more. When I went back to Manila, I downloaded ebooks of the last 3 and finished reading in less than 3 days.

My eyes still hurt.

So there.

Haha, I really only wanted to share that my eyes are giving me discomfort again. I just couldn’t resist sharing the Tinky-Winky and JoKla stories as well.

—–

listening to: The Wombats – Bleeding Love

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. i didn’t like Cho Chang as well. Heart?! wtf.

    but could they at least chose a better actress to play Ginny?

    my eyes hurt too after sleeping with my contacts on. imagine the pain of removing it at 5am, already hard & dry.

    Reply
  2. jin

     /  August 15, 2008

    ralph fiennes as voldemort. cool.

    Reply
  3. i need to finish reading the books. 😀
    but i think if I read all the books before I watch the films, it might make me less in awe of the film, wahaha. 😀

    Reply
  4. Whooooa booktrip!

    I was always a Harry Potter fan too! 😀
    I totally cried my eyes out on Book 7. Gahh. Did you? 🙂
    Can’t wait for the Half Blood Prince to come out on the big screen.

    Reply
  5. Heart i think would’ve been a prettier cho chang. The one they have is fugly!

    Reply
  6. I remember remembering all the lines of the movie, and buying Bertie Bott’s Every Flavored Beans and hating their “dirt” flavor.

    It’s actually funny how I lost interest in the whole series after anticipating the 7th book. It took so long to be published that when it was already out, I was out of the addiction na.

    BTW. Do you mind if I add you sa blogroll ko? 🙂

    Reply
  7. sab: yeah. im not satisfied with the actress playing ginny weasley either. dapat ako na lang. bwahaha. tsk tsk. umayos ka. magtanggal ka ng contacts.

    jin: weh. maggie smith as mcgonagall. love it!

    joko: pagusapan naten ang twilight saga bukas.

    jewel: book 5 pa lang nagiiiyak na ako. nde ko ma-take na namatay si sirius, tapos sa book 6 si dumbledore… tapos sa book 7 si dobby. waaaaahhh! diosmeh. may part 1 and part 2 pa yung book 7 sa bigscreen.

    ciggie girl: true true. heart’s prettier. also more annoying.

    silver: haha how abt the earwax-flavored bean? yung nakain ni dumbledore. haha. i dont mind. thanks! 🙂

    Reply
  8. take my word for it, mas malala ang dirt flavored bean. It creeps up to your nose kasi, tas it lingers kahit malunok, maluwa at kung ano-ano pa. It has this, somewhat, haunting spell on it.

    Reply
  9. only when she opens her mouth. she’s tolerable when put in mute. LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

