Top Meal!

After a couple of minutes arguing whether we should try out a vegetarian resto or a Portuguese fusion bar, a compromise was reached and we ended up eating at Top Meal Food House. It’s 2 streets away from Joko’s office and it’s still a mystery why we only got to eat there last week. Beats me, how it was classified as a compromise though! :p

This beat Corner Tree Cafe and O’Sonho for dinner last Monday

Look! Anton of Our Awesome Planet on Top Meal’s wall!

And Mayor Junjun Binay, too!

The place specializes on Bicolano food like Bicol Express (duh) and Top Meal also has Chicken a la Mado, one of the Top 10 Culinary Experiences in the Philippines according to WikiPilipinas. We ordered both dishes as well as binagoongan, pinakbet, and sinigang na baboy. We weren’t supposed to get the sinigang but when the server gave us free sinigang soup, we knew we just gotta have it– kasi sabaw pa lang, winner na! The binagoongan was also a winner dish, it went so well with the sourness of the sinigang (but really, I wish I had green mangoes to go with it). I will not oppose that the bicol express is indeed the specialty. The chicken a la mado, however didn’t fascinate me because I am not a fan of chicken cooked with coconut milk. Also, Joko likened it to chicken curry without the curry and chicken curry is number 1 in my not-to-eat list. Anyway, my friends liked the chicken a la mado, so I guess you don’t have to pay attention to me and my extraneous preference. Hehe. The pinakbet was good according to my part-Ilocana taste buds, loved the balance of veggie sweetness and the tad bitterness from the ampalaya. Joko hates ampalaya though, so yay for me, I had every piece.

L-R: chicken a la mado, bicol express and binagoongang baboy

pinakbet (Bicolano stye? πŸ™‚ )

ugly picture of the supergood sinigang

For dessert, we had leche flan and it’s something I would eat again when I go back to Top Meal. I will accompany it with halo-halo next time.

leche flan (nag-aadik yata ako dito lately)

Halo-halo P65.00… Kassy Pajarillo – priceless (lol)

picture taking while digesting lol (me, Joko, Dietrich and Kas)

With owner, Wilson Tan πŸ™‚

after free, inexpensive is what I want to go with good food :p

Top Meal Food Haus at 5994 J.D. Villena St. cor. Mabini St. Poblacion, Makati

—–

listening to: Slash feat Adam Levin – Gotten

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. I miss leche flan and halo halo — sobra!! This gives me an idea for a blog post!! And pinakbet…. yum!!!

    Reply
  2. Wow, bago lang yung wall na yon ha… asenso na talaga si Top Meals! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. jokoness

     /  June 7, 2010

    I liked it. I should read other people’s blogs more.

    I should have blogging and bloggers time. haha!

    Reply
  4. I have to increase my value! Hahaha! :))

    Reply
  5. i have to increase my value.. priceless and spoiled! haha πŸ˜›

    Reply
  6. ;I am impressed with the post. If you can do a youtube video for it. i would watch! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  7. Visiting your site is sinful. :c It makes me want to forget my diet. :c

    Reply
  8. JUN: IN FERLA ANG SARAP TALAGA NUNG ITSURA NUNG LECHE FLAN NA GINAWA MO!

    ANTON: WELCOME! πŸ™‚ BAKA MAKITA KO PA PICTURE MO SA IBANG MGA MAKAKAINAN KO HA!

    DAVID AND SLAVEBOI: THANKS! πŸ™‚

    JOKO AND KAS: MGA ADIK KAYO EHEHE

    Reply

Leave a Reply

