Republika

Took a break from reading Fragile Things by Neil Gaiman to check out this brand new comic book that my friend Alex bought from the recently concluded Summer Komik Kon.

image

I have never been interested in reading comics, but the cover art caught my attention. There’s a Lara Croft-looking girl holding an exceptionally lethal-looking knife. There’s also an insignia of a red-white-yellow triangle with a star on each corner placed on top of the comic book’s equally Pinoy title– REPUBLIKA.

Sounds pretty kickass, eh? And so I flipped through the pages of its 1st issue and to see if the content can meet my expectations. Hmmm… A popular Filipino novel, war, JPR, and a local mythical creature??!! By page 14 (contains a photo of The Parisian Life and the Philippine map), I knew I had to get my hands on the 2nd issue. I must find out the secrets of our national heroes and their connection to the mysterious island called Republika. And I need to know what the Lara Croft-looking girl is capable of doing!

The story that ties all the well-detailed illustrations is a mindgame dealing with history, science, and the supernatural. Such elements can potentially create genius.

Cheers to director/storyteller Paul Basinillo and comicbook illustrator/storyboard artist Dennis Crisostomo for this visual and literary treat!

—–

Alex also brought a Republika merchandise. A cute stuffy that’s supposed to be the sun but looks more of a pudgy yellow jellyfish! Pero sige, para sa ngalan ng Republika, araw na nga!😛

—–

listening to: Bamboo – Masaya

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. When I was there in the Philippines, an American friend of mine here in the US, ( white girl) asked me to buy her a Filipino graphic novel ( Murder at Balete Drive ). She has the first and second volume. I bought her 3 volumes. ( She was a peace Corps in the Philippines several years ago )

    I’m glad Filipinos are making graphic novels. It’s better to cash in on what’s really, really popular nowadays, ( not to mind what kind of stuff we’re reading, ha ha ha ) , but some stories are really outastanding, and some people prefer the visual kind.

    Cheers !

    Reply
  2. Anonymous

     /  May 31, 2012

    Hey Iya, I’ll be following the story od Republika from your blog. Keep it coming.

    Reply
    • Mommy Myla, is that you? I saw from my Fb that you read this entry, hehehe! Sure, I’m really planning to get all issues of Republika. I can
      share it with you and Makus.🙂

      Reply
  3. Anonymous

     /  May 31, 2012

    nice! how much is it and where is it available?

    Reply
  4. Alex Basinillo

     /  June 1, 2012

    Hi! you can check it out and get your copies online at Studio Kaiba Facebok page or at Comic Odyssey Galleria.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

